What Is The Importance Of The Term "Trimurti" In Hinduism?


3 Answers

Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
The god-figures (devas) in Hinduism stand for different forces of nature, or equivalently, different emotions of mind. This is because the universe is considered to be a reflection of one's own consciousness : Everything in the interior world has a counterpart in the exterior world. There is no supernatural element, no God beyond our own universe.

Ultimately any force or element of nature can be understood as a manifestation of three forms : Intelligence (represented by Brahma) life (represented by Vishnu) or energy (represented by Shiva). These trimurti (or 3 forms) are the most supreme representation of the universe. The wives of these figures stand for exactly the same concept, but represented in the feminine. All these three forms are supposed to be 3 facets of one and single entity known as universal consciousness or Brahman.

Hindu philosophy says that the universe is created by intelligence (awareness), it is preserved by life and it will be destroyed by energy. This are the functions of the Trimurti, but it doesn't mean they don't have any function beyond that. Life, intelligence or energy are perennial and are essential for the very existence of the universe.

Brahma has 4 faces observing all the four directions , signifying the holistic nature of awareness. Vishnu incarnates regularly on the earth to restore balance to justice, because it is His job (as life). The dance of Shiva is considered to be the very vibrations of the universe.

Understanding either of these 3 forms is essential to comprehend the nature of the all-encompassing Brahman. This realization that one's own consciousness is not different from the universe (Brahman) is the essence of salvation. This realization can be done in 3 methods : Knowledge (jnana), love or devotion (bhakti) or selfless activity (karma). The paths of knowledge and activity need no personal God (Ishvar) for fulfilment.

It is only the path of love (Bhakti) that encourages love and worship of God. This can be any form, but the most supreme are the forms of the Trimurti. Brahma (intelligence) should not be worshipped because there is no point. Being infatuated with one's own intelligence doesn't help in one's self-identification with the universe (this has been illustrated by several myths such as that of the Ketaki flower). Thus, this form should only be realized by the path of knowledge (jnana).

However, the other forms of the Trimurti : Vishnu (life) or Shiva (energy) can serve as objects of worship.
Sudipa Sarkar Profile
Sudipa Sarkar answered
The harmony of the three great gods who were accepted as the creators of the universe is called Trimurti in Hinduism. The three gods were Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva were the most respected gods in Hinduism and men often need the powers of them all in a single form. Brahma was known as creator, Vishnu was worshiped as preserver and Shiva was in charge of destruction.

Trimurti was considered as the principle of an effort to bring together unlike monotheistic looms with one another and with the philosophic set of guidelines of ultimate reality. The trimurti symbolism was the three gods collapsed into a single form with three faces.

Trimurti was often called the Hindu Trinity which had a relationship to the Holy Trinity of Christianity.

Trimurti is still respected and worshiped in some places in India and other Hindu nations.
suman kumar Profile
suman kumar answered
Trimurti is referred to as Brahma Vishnu & Siva. They are also called Creator, Protector and destroyer

Answer Question